Wednesday Workout Wrap Up {November 12-18, 2014}

Welcome to my second ever Wednesday Workout Wrap Up. Last week I talked a lot about my exercise cycle, how I always start out my week strong and then give up by Wednesday. Well, I’m happy to report that I’m still going strong with my exercise plan and it sure is empowering.

I ran four races in four weeks this past October-November:

October 18, 2014: The Baltimore Running Festival Marathon Team Relay {my leg was 6.8 miles}

October 26, 2014: The Perfect 10 Miler

November 2, 2014: The Cooper Norcross Run the Bridge 10K

November 9, 2014: The Lemon Run 5K

I think most people (myself included) thought I was crazy, but looking back, I see it more as my Fall Running Season. I picked events that would be a challenge, but doable, I trained, and then I attacked. Now I’m focusing more on strength training and cross training during the holidays, but then I will start to focus on running again when my half marathon training begins in February. {I have a plan in my head for 2015 that I will be talking about in a future post.}

Now, lets start with the workout wrap up:

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Wednesday night, I worked 1-9, so I spent my hour long dinner break at the gym working on upper body strength training. I’m following the Body For Life Weight Lifting Plan.

-Dumbbell bench presses (Dumbbell flyes)

-Wide grip lat pulldowns (Seated cable rows)

-Upright barbell rows (Seated dumbbell presses)

-Barbell curls (Concentration curls)

-Triceps kickbacks (Benchdips)

Thursday, November 13, 2014

Thursday night, I had my dinner date with the treadmill for 20 minutes of HIIT. I have never been a fast runner, but I’m working on it. This is one of my favorite workouts to do and I’m hoping it will help me with my short distance speed over time.

Friday, November 14, 2014

I actually worked three 1-9 shifts in a row this week, so once again I was at the gym for my dinner break. I did lower body strength training and {OMG} I hopped on the erg for the first time in 10 years for 4 x 500 meters with 1 minute rest. 10 years was not a long enough break from erging. Ha!

Saturday, November 15 and Sunday, November 16, 2014

Sweet glorious NOTHING!!! I was really sore from the lifting and erging, plus, it was my first weekend in a month that I did not have a race. My husband and I saw a movie, we had an excellent lunch date with my son and parents, I took Dax to his first ever concert, met a colleague for coffee at Starbucks, and made a banging pot of chili. Sweet glorious weekend!

Monday, November 17, 2014

I got my workout on in the early afternoon and it was good! I did upper body strength training and then, once again, I was back on the erg. This time I did a stroke pyramid.

photo (1)

Just in case you were wondering, this was deceptively hard. And longer than I thought it would be (12 minutes). But it was good. Monday was a great sweat day.

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I was working another 1-9 due to a library program, so I went for a run while Dax was at “school”. (My son goes to “school” one day a week for two hours.) It was 20 degrees outside, which doesn’t bother me, but does bother my husband…. but he still came outside to join me for a run. AND, I got him to do the first day of C210K training! BOOM!

Slow and steady and DONE!

To sum up, it was a great week of exercise for me. I’m now on my third week of exercising consistently and I can already feel a difference. I just have to keep on moving.

Happy Hump Day everyone!

~Christen

 

Leave a Reply

