Wednesday Workout Wrap Up {November 5-11, 2014}

It seems silly to post a weekly wrap up on a Wednesday, right smack in the middle of the week… But I tend to “quit” on Wednesdays. I usually do a long run on Saturday or Sunday, and coming off that endorphin high, I attack the gym Monday and Tuesday. By Wednesday I think, “you’ve worked so hard. Go to SaladWorks and read your book for an hour. You deserve a rest day”. On Thursday, “you already missed Wednesday. What’s one more day?” And so on and so on…

I’ve always struggled with my weight, but seemed to find a really good balance earlier this summer. Unfortunately, I became a little too obsessed with the scale after seeing some really positive changes and it ended up backfiring on me when I couldn’t maintain the low number I wanted. I took some time to reevaluate my goals, my self image, what I wanted to accomplish. I also really thought about what I want to do in 2015 and I have some BIG plans. In order to do the things I want to do, I need to focus on the elements of my fitness journey that worked in the past. At this point, my two big goals are to work on normalizing my diet (I’ve been eating out way too much AND eating too many sweets the last few months) and focus on being more structured with my workouts. I’m hoping if I can commit to these two things I will survive the holidays without going into a sloth like food coma. 🙂 Soooooooooo, with all that being said, I present my very first Weekly Workout Wrap Up:

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

On Monday, I started back up with the Body for Life Weight Lifting Plan. Although I have never done the whole BFL 12 week plan, I love their strength training routine. It’s effective for me and I’m able to fit it into my lunchtime workout routine. Wednesday was Lower Body time and it was my first lower body workout in MONTHS. I went light on the weights and I could still really feel it. Actually, I was sore for several days afterwards. I did:

-Leg presses (and barbell squats)

-Straight leg deadlifts (and lunges with dumbbells)

-Standing heel raises

-Hanging knee raises

Thursday, November 6, 2014

My tiny BFF ended up getting sick on Thursday, so I called out from work and spent the day cuddling with him on the couch. After he went to bed, I went for my first evening run in months. (I did this a lot during last winter’s Runner’s World Run Streak.) It was just a quick two miles to stretch out my (still very sore) legs.

Friday, November 7, 2014

Unintentional rest day. I was home again with a sick toddler and was feeling a little off myself, so I decided to just listen to my body and relax.

Saturday, November 8, 2014

On Saturday, Dave, Dax, and I drove into Bala Cynwyd, PA to pick up our race packets at Alex’s Lemonade Stand headquarters for the 2014 Lemon Run.

Dax was very confused and kept asking “where the lemonade?” Sorry dude.

I didn’t make it to the gym, but it was really important for me to get an arm strength training workout in, so after Dax went to bed, I brought up an old workout favorite:

Back on Pointe was my go to destination for workouts when I first started getting fit in the Winter of 2012-13. If you’re new to exercise and aren’t quite ready to commit to a gym (or you want to try some new at home exercises), check this site out!

Sunday, November 9, 2014

Sunday was The Lemon Run 5K in Philly. You can read all about it here!

This picture was posted to the ALS Facebook page last night and I love it! See me in pink? I’m giving the two year old some last minute tips before his 100 meter dash!

Monday, November 10, 2014

Back to the gym for my lunch break sweat break. 🙂 Today was Lower Body lifting from the BFL weight lifting plan. Once again, I did:

-Leg presses (and barbell squats)

-Straight leg deadlifts (and lunges with dumbbells)

-Standing heel raises

-Hanging knee raises

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

I was off yesterday for Veterans Day, so after I took Dax to “school”, I went for a 5 mile run. It was slow, but lovely. Sometimes it feels good to just run for the sake of running and not worry about speed and pace. After Dax was done “school”, we went to a farm for a hayride and some popping corn picking. It ended up being a very active day and I hit over 20K steps!  BOOM!

Overall, I was really pleased with this past week and am hoping to keep my momentum going. I’ll be posting another workout check in next Wednesday. See you then…

~Christen

 

 

One thought on “Wednesday Workout Wrap Up {November 5-11, 2014}

  1. Pingback: Wednesday Workout Wrap Up {November 12-18, 2014} | Christen {hearts} Pinterest

Leave a Reply

