He Gives Warm Hugs {DIY Olaf Costume}

OlafMy two year old was very anti costume this Halloween.  In fact, he started telling me in September, “I don’t want to wear a costume. I just want candy.” Sorry kid. It doesn’t work that way. In early October, this Olaf costume pattern from Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop came into my inbox and I just had to make it! I showed it to my husband, who laughed and said, “you know Dax will never wear that, right?” Luckily, I have a friend who was looking for an Olaf costume for her three month old son, so I got to make it for him.

I downloaded Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop’s free pattern off of craftsy and was on my way. The pattern was for size 6-12 months, but I had one of Dax’s old 3 month jammies and I modified the pattern from that as was instructed.

photo 1

I ended up using this free hat pattern from FleeceFun.com to make the Olaf hat. Didn’t it come out great?

photo 2

I actually made the lining of the hat first, then attached the eyes, eyebrows, nose, and mouth to the front outside piece. Next, I attached the twig hair when I sewed the front and back of the outside of the hat together, and finally I finished the hat by adding in the previously made lining. (Does that make sense?)

photo 3

This was my first attempt at a costume and I’m REALLY happy with the results! Even the maniac toddler was impressed.

{“You make that hat for me?”

“Would you wear it?”

“No.”}

Lastly, thank you to my friend Sarah and her lovely children for letting me put their pictures of on my blog! The costume is cute, but it’s baby J that really makes the costume FABULOUS!

photo 2 (1)

 {He gives warm hugs!}

Thanks for reading!

~Christen


2 thoughts on “He Gives Warm Hugs {DIY Olaf Costume}

Leave a Reply

