Self Directed Programs

*** 1/12/15: The blog has moved! make sure to check out the updated version of this post here. Thank you!***

I recently gave a presentation at the 2013 New Jersey Fall Youth Services Forum entitled “Nothing Passive About It: Portable Programs for Teens on the Go”.  I work for a library that has a hard time attracting teens to “typical” library programs (book clubs, crafting events, movie tie in parties), so last year I decided to embrace the Self Directed Program.  Almost monthly I set up a “program” that my teens can take part in while stopping by the library.  They usually have to fill out a survey, take a quiz, cast a vote.  They always get candy for participating, and I like to have a Grand Prize for at least one winner per program.  I went through several of my more successful programs during this presentation and now I’m going to share them with all of you.  At the end of this post I will share a link to my “Nothing Passive About It” Dropbox folder.  Please feel free to borrow or recreate any of these ideas!

Fairy Tale{Fairy Tale Scavenger Hunt}

YA Book Brawl{YA Book Brawl}

Blind Date with a Book 2014{Blind Date with a Book}

Catching Fire Display{News from the Capitol- Catching Fire Movie Tie In}

No Shave November{No Shave November- I can’t take credit for this one. I told my supervisor I wanted to do this display, but didn’t have the time so she offered to do it for me. It came out fabulously!}

DIY to go{DIY To Go: Chevron Friendship Bracelets}

Garden State Teen Book Awards 2013{Garden State Teen Book Awards}

Round of 32

Winner{YA March Madness aka My FAVORITE Self Directed Program of all time!!}

I hope these pictures help inspire you to try out a self directed program at your library or classroom.  You can find all of my files here.  Please let me know if you have any questions or thoughts… and please feel free to share any successful Self Directed programs in the comments section below.

Happy Sunday,

~Christen


5 thoughts on “Self Directed Programs

  1. Pingback: Paint Sample Notebooks | Christen {hearts} Pinterest

  2. Pingback: No Shave November {Self Directed Programs} | Christen {hearts} Pinterest

  3. Pingback: Teen Services Underground | Ask An Agent: How Do You Make the Teen Area Cool & All Ages Friendly?

Leave a Reply

