DIY Burp Cloths for my Super Spitty Baby

I can’t remember the last time I used my sewing machine.  I think it was when I made Dax’s car seat cover back in February.  Wow!  That was three and a half months ago.  {sad face}  Tonight, my little dude decided that he wanted to go to bed at 8:30, so I took this opportunity to wipe the dust off my sewing machine and make Dax something not sew (ha!) easy.  I pinned this tutorial from Petite Lemon Blog FOREVER ago and I’m excited that I was finally able to make her awesome burp cloths.

I’ve been taking weekly photos of Dax (post to appear shortly) using different fabric backdrops that my mom buys us from Jo-Ann Fabrics.  Last week, we used this adorable dinosaur flannel and I decided that I would be using this fabric for our burp cloths.

{I love this boy!}

For this project, you need:

-Prefold Diapers (I bought mine from Target!)

-Fabric (I used flannel, but cotton would work, too)

-Thread

-Sewing Machine and Basic Sewing Supplies

Step 1: Wash your fabrics and IRON everything!

Step 2: Cut fabric.  (I sort of just improvised this step.  I knew I wanted it to be the length of the burp cloth and a pretty thick strip.)

Step 3: Iron your edges to make a nice clean line.

Step 4: Trim up your corners

Step 5: Pin your fabric to your prefold cloth diaper.

Step 6: Now get to sewing!!  I sewed my fabric all the way around with a somewhat decorative stitch.

Step 7: Admire your work.

I’m really excited about these burp cloths and I can’t wait to try them out on Dax (aka my super spitty baby).  This is a great pattern from Petite Lemon Blog and a super fast project that would make a great gift for moms to be.  I’m already planning on how I might make some changes to this pattern in the future for some soon to be moms that I know.  Woot!  I rate this pin an Epic Success!

Happy crafting…

~Christen

3 Responses to “DIY Burp Cloths for my Super Spitty Baby”


  1. 1 Janna September 8, 2012 at 10:29 am

    Idk how I missed this post but these are SOOO cute! I love them!

  2. 3 barbraabf February 8, 2013 at 1:00 am

    These are really pretty….baby is cute…


Leave a Reply

{Mom} {Librarian} {Runner} {Fauxtographer} {DIYista} {Pinterest Enthusiast}

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

ChristenPins

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Bad ass mothers! #marchiemoms #colormerad #rad #christenruns

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

