Cricut Birthday Banner

I haven’t updated my blog in a month. Super sad face.  I have been crafting, but not as much as I would like.  Mostly because by the time I get home from work, I’m exhausted, and on my days off I don’t want to move from the couch.  I do have several more projects that I need to get moving on before the baby gets here (in 6 short weeks), so hopefully I’ll be updating a bit more frequently from here on out!

One of the projects I had the most fun with this past month was making my friend’s daughter a Birthday Banner with my brand new Cricut.  (Thanks mom & dad!)  I had brought the Cricut to work with me in December and made a banner for a program there.  I was so proud of my results that I posted a picture to Facebook.  When my friend saw the picture, she asked me if I could make a banner for her daughter’s first birthday and there was no way I could refuse!

This isn’t really a step by step tutorial, since it’s pretty self explanatory if you own the Cricut.  However, I did take pictures of several of my steps.

Supplies:

Black cardstock

Scrapbooking paper

glue stick

ribbon

tulle

hole punch

Cricut

A Child’s Year Cricut cartridge

I was lucky enough to have a 50% off coupon for AC Moore, so I got a great deal on the scrapbooking paper.  Once I had my paper, I made sure my ribbon color coordinated nicely.

I used the A Child’s Year cartridge for all of my cutting.  It was perfect.  I was able to get my circles, letters, balloon shapes, and “Happy Birthday” shape all from this single cartridge.  Score!

I decided from the beginning that I was going to use cardstock as my background piece to give the banner more durability.  I cut out my black cardstock first, followed by my colored scrapbooking paper (an inch smaller so that I could still see the black cardstock for contrast).  After that I got to cutting and pasting on the letters.  Lastly, I added in some balloons and a “Happy Birthday” shape to give the banner more character.

Since I have a super crazy kitty at home, I decided to hold off on stringing the banner together.  I waited until I knew I would meet up with my friend, then I brought the banner to work so that I could avoid said crazy cat.  I used the blue ribbon for the top part of the banner and the pink ribbon for the bottom part.  I also tied little pieces of neon green tulle between each letter to keep them from slipping into each other.  I was very pleased with the final result!

Score 1 for the awesome Cricut!  I rate the project an Epic Success and I’m looking forward to seeing what else I can make in the near future.

Happy Pinning…

~Christen

3 Responses to “Cricut Birthday Banner”


  1. 1 Michelle February 4, 2012 at 9:08 pm

    Thank you SO much Christen. Juliet (and her mom and dad) LOVED her Happy Birthday banner! I can’t wait to see what others you do now.


Leave a Reply

{Mom} {Librarian} {Runner} {Fauxtographer} {DIYista} {Pinterest Enthusiast}

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 22 other followers

ChristenPins

Dictionary flower in my hair. Must be our Halloweenie celebration tonight at the library. #DictionFairy #craftybitch

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

