Point and Shoot Camera Clutch

My second Christmas sewing project was for my awesome parents.  After finding out that Dave and I are having a baby, they told us that they plan to help with babysitting Dewey.  YAY!  I decided that since they will be spending so much time with the baby, they would need a fabulous point and shoot to capture all of Dewey’s awesomeness.  Dave and I got them a Nikon Coolpix S6100 Digital Camera from B&H. (We <3 B&H!!)

I realized after buying my parents the camera, they would also need a case, but I couldn’t find one that I really loved.  Luckily, Pinterest was there for the rescue.  After doing some searching, I came across the perfect camera clutch tutorial found at Karlen Creates.  Although, I’m going to post my step by step instructions, you should definitely check out Karlene Creates for more detailed (and easier to follow) instructions.

First, I gathered up the ol’ supplies:

-Two Rectangles of fabric measuring approximately 14 1/2″ x 4.5″

(I like to make a template in Microsoft Word because I suck with my ruler.)

-Batting

-1″ of 1/4″ elastic

-1 button

-Sewing machine and basic sewing supplies.

Start by cutting out your fabric:

and your batting:

Take the two pieces of fabric and lay them right sides facing.  Then lay the batting on the wrong side of one of those two pieces.

Next, peel back your one layer of fabric and pin your 1″ of 1/4″ elastic into a loop on one of the 4 1/2″ sides of the other piece of fabric with the loop FACING IN!!!!!  (I messed this up and had to start all over from the beginning.  Sad face.) Karlen Creates says that she, “found it held best if you use the side that has the batting on top of it.”

(This is the wrong way!!!!  Don’t do this!!!  Face the loop IN not OUT!)

Now we pin…

….and sew (leaving about two inches from your starting point so that you can pull everything through):

(Make sure you go over the elastic with the sewing machine a few times so that it’s really held into place.)

Trim up your corners and the batting, then pull everything through your hole so it’s right side out.  Use a chopstick, pencil, etc. to poke to corners out. Make sure you go back around with your sewing machine, as close to the edge as possible, to close up your 2″ hole.

Here’s a little picture of what happens when you attach the elastic loop the wrong way:

UGHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!

Now you want to fold from the bottom up (the top is where the elastic loop is), leaving about 2.5″ left on the top (I also pinned as I went).  Fold the top over the bottom and using the elastic loop, mark where you want your button to be sewed on.

The very last step is to start at the bottom of the right side of the bag and sew all the way up to where the bottom and top pieces no longer meet.  Repeat on the left side.

Finally, you’re done and your bag is ready for a camera!  YAYAYAYAY!!!

This might have been one of the more tricky sewing projects I have tried.  It was my first attempt at sewing through batting and it made for some interesting cursing and hissy fits.  BUT, I did it and I am super happy with the results.  (Dave liked it so much that he asked me to make a larger case to hold his Tablet.  We’ll see….)

I feel like my instructions are adequate, at best, so please please please check out Karlen Creates’ Camera Clutch Tutorial if you decide to make this case.  You’ll be happier (and less frustrated) this way!

I rate this Pin an Epic Success!

Happy New Year’s Eve!

~Christen

0 Responses to “Point and Shoot Camera Clutch”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

{Mom} {Librarian} {Runner} {Fauxtographer} {DIYista} {Pinterest Enthusiast}

Follow Me on Pinterest

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 21 other followers

ChristenPins

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Pancakes and computers. #twinsies #adventureswithdax

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

